Living Museum of the Great Western Railway

Home » Support Us » Local Great Western Society Groups - Local Great Western Society Groups

Local Great Western Society Groups

The Great Western Society has local groups which organise meetings and events in the Bristol, Oxford, South West (Torbay), Swindon and Taunton areas. The groups also support the Society by undertaking practical work at Didcot or locally and through the vital elements of fundraising and local publicity.

Bristol Group

Chairman: Robert Heron
Secretary: Robin Jordan E-Mail>>

Group Events:

Bristol Group Meetings are held on Tuesday at, BAWA, 589 Southmead Road, Filton, BRISTOL, BS34 7RG (Phone: 0117 987 3244, Web: www.bawa.biz) 19:30 for 19:45 and all are welcome.

Tuesday 14 January A Broad Gauge Journey - Part II Brian Arman
Tuesday 11 February The Andrew Hook Memorial Meeting
Incorporating the Group Annual Meeting
Richard Preston
Tuesday 10 March A Lot of Then and Some of Now Wayne Finch
Tuesday 14 April Sorry - this meeting has been cancelled  
Tueasday 12 May Sorry - this meeting has been cancelled  

See the Group Web Site for more details: Great Western Society Bristol Group

The Great Western Society is not responsible for the content of external web sites.

Oxford Group

Chairman: Ken Bampton
Secretary: Margaret Pargeter

Group Events:

Oxford Group Meetings are held on Friday at, Pauling Human Sciences Centre, 58 Banbury Rd., Oxford at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 31 January  T.B.A.  
Friday 28 February Group Annual Meeting, followed by a Cotswold Line Promotion Group presentation 
Friday 27 March Sorry - this meeting has been cancelled  
Friday 24 April Peter Gray’s West Country Railways Amyas Crump
Friday 29 May The North Staffordshire Railway Part 2 Tommy Tomalin with Brian Sullivan

South West Group

Chairman: Colin Stone
Secretary: Gillian Lemar-Collings

Group Events:

South West Group Meetings are held on Saturday at, The Parish Centre, Church End Road, Kingskerswell, Torbay at 18:30 and all are welcome.

Saturday 18 January Rhatische Bahn – 3 Decades of Change Jonathan Collinge
Saturday 15 February Group Annual Meeting, followed by My Life in Transport Graham Hooper
Saturday 21 March Sorry - this meeting has been cancelled  
Saturday 16 April A Dip into a Vintage Film Collection Amyas Crump

Swindon Group

Chairman: Rodney Bagshaw
Secretary: Candy Castle

Group Events:

Swindon Group Meetings are held on Friday at, Lawn Community Centre, Guildford Ave., Off Windsor Rd., Lawn, Swindon, SN3 1JE at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 10 January Classic Vintage Railway Films  Peter Tough
Friday 7 February Group Annual Meeting  
Friday ?? March T.B.A.  
Friday ?? April T.B.A.  
Friday ?? May T.B.A.  

Taunton Group

Chairman: Stuart Trott E-Mail>>
Secretary: David Hartland - Tel. 07711 229071
Speaker Secretary, PR and Programme Officer: Peter Triggs - Tel. 01823 334188

Group Events:

Group meetings are held on the third Friday of each month, throughout the year, at Stoke St Mary Village Hall, near Taunton. TA3 5BY (unless otherwise indicated) commencing at 19.30, and all are welcome.

Friday 17 January End of Steam in Mid Glamorgan Brian Lewis
Friday 21 February Group Annual Meeting, followed by Transport of the Cold War Era Chris Penny
Friday 20 March Sorry - this meeting has been cancelled  
Friday 17 April Sorry - this meeting has been cancelled  
Friday 15 May Travels with a Cornishman David Lecher
Friday 19 June The Great Train Robbery Ian Boskett
Friday 17 July Both Sides Now Graham Bean
Friday 21 August Members Present M/C Francis Lewis

In addition to monthly meetings Taunton Group arranges a programme of social events and trips to places of railway, transport and industrial heritage as well as producing an annual magazine for members.

A downloadable version of our meetings programme and information about the group (85k Word document) is avaiable.

« Back To Support Us

Didcot Railway Centre Newsletter

Stay up to date with events and what's going on at Didcot Railway Centre.
You may unsubscribe at any time. We do not share your data with 3rd parties.

Subscribe

Make A Donation

Click To Donate