Living Museum of the Great Western Railway

Home » What's On - Swindon Panel Demonstrations

Swindon Panel Demonstrations

Step into a signalman's shoes and have a go at controlling the trains - 1960s style!

Buy tickets

You can visit our latest attraction - The Signalling Centre - whenever the Railway Centre is open. There you can look at artefacts showing the evolution of railway signalling from the earliest days of the Great Western Railway through to the 1960s and even have a go at using some of the equipment.

On Swindon panel demonstration days members of the Swindon Panel Society will be present and can show you how to control the trains on a 40-mile stretch of the Great Western Railway main line using state-of-the-art technology from the 1960s!

You can buy tickets online at any time prior to the day of your visit - or buy them at the entrance on arrival.

Buy tickets

Sunday 20th October 2019 (Exhibition Only Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 26th October 2019 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 27th October 2019 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Wednesday 30th October 2019 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 10th November 2019 (Exhibition Only Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 17th November 2019 (Exhibition Only Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 30th November 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 1st December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 7th December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 8th December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 14th December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 15th December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 21st December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 22nd December 2019 (Festive Day Out With Thomas)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 28th December 2019 (Exhibition Only Day)
All Day Ticket
Monday 30th December 2019 (Exhibition Only Day)
All Day Ticket
Wednesday 1st January 2020 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket

Buy tickets

Didcot Railway Centre Newsletter

Stay up to date with events and what's going on at Didcot Railway Centre.
You may unsubscribe at any time. We do not share your data with 3rd parties.