Living Museum of the Great Western Railway

Home » What's On - Swindon Panel Demonstrations

Swindon Panel Demonstrations

Control the trains - 1960s style! All Steam Days and most Weekend Exhibition Days.

Buy tickets

You can visit our latest attraction - The Signalling Centre - whenever the Railway Centre is open. There you can look at artefacts showing the evolution of railway signalling from the earliest days of the Great Western Railway through to the 1960s and even have a go at using some of the equipment.

On all Steam Days, most weekend Exhibition Days and selected other times, there’s also a chance to get hands-on and control trains using the 1960s technology of the Swindon Panel.  The equipment was once the heart of Swindon signalbox has been saved and restored so, guided by one of our experts, you can keep trains running safely and to time on a virtual Great Western mainline! 

The equipment was installed in the 1960s to replace the steam age signalling in use until then and has been saved and restored by members of the Swindon Panel Society.  They will be pleased to show you how to control the trains on a 40-mile stretch of the Great Western main line and let you have a go!

The panel will be open on the dates shown below and is included in the entry fee for that day.  Buy your tickets online in advance for a 10% discount.

Buy tickets

Wednesday 1st January 2020 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 4th January 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 5th January 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 11th January 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 12th January 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 18th January 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 19th January  2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 25th January 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 1st February 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 2nd February 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 9th February 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 15th February 2020 (Delivering the Goods event)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 16th February 2020 (Delivering the Goods event)
All Day Ticket
Wednesday 19th February 2020 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 22nd February 2020 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Sunday 23rd February 2020 (Steam Day)
All Day Ticket
Saturday 29th February 2020 (Spring Exhibition Day)
All Day Ticket

Buy tickets

Didcot Railway Centre Newsletter

Stay up to date with events and what's going on at Didcot Railway Centre.
You may unsubscribe at any time. We do not share your data with 3rd parties.

Make A Donation

Click To Donate