Living Museum of the Great Western Railway

Home » Plan Your Visit » Locomotive Roster - Locomotive Roster

Locomotive Roster

Locomotives Available for Traffic

Locomotives currently considered to be ‘in traffic’, subject to normal running maintenance are:

  • 1340Trojan — GWR (Avonside) 0-4-0 Saddle Tank Locomotive
  • 2999Lady of Legend — GWR 4-6-0 Tender Locomotive (2999 is away from Didcot at present visiting the Severn Valey Railway and is expected to return in September)
  • 4079Pendennis Castle — GWR 4-6-0 Tender Locomotive
  • 4144 — GWR 2-6-2 Prairie Tank (4144 is away from Didcot at present visiting the Mid Norfolk and Spa Valley Railways and is expected to return in August)
  • 2409King George - Hunslet 0-6-0 Tank Locomotive
  • 31 270Athena - Brush Type 2 Diesel Electric
  • D9516 — Class 14 0-6-0 'Teddy Bear' Ex BR(WR) Diesel Hydraulic
  • 08604Phantom — Class 08 0-6-0 BR Diesel-electric shunter

The Great Western Diesel Railcar, No. 22 is also in traffic.

Hunslet 0-6-0 Diesel, DL26, is also available for shunting and engineering purposes and you may see it in action on the day of your visit but it is not used for passenger duties.

We currently plan on running the following locomotives on the days listed - but please be aware that this can be subject to change due to operational requirements: 

July 2024

Wednesday 3 July

2409 - King George

22 - Diesel Railcar

Saturday 6 July

31 270 - 'Athena'

2409 - King George

Sunday 7 July

31 270 - 'Athena'

2409 - King George

Wednesday 10 July

2409 - King George

22 - Diesel Railcar

Saturday 13 July

08604 - 'Phantom'

4079 - Pendennis Castle

Sunday 14 July

08604 - 'Phantom'

4079 - Pendennis Castle

Wednesday 17 July

2409 - King George

22 - Diesel Railcar

Saturday 20 July

22 - Diesel Railcar

4079 - Pendennis Castle

Sunday 21 July

22 - Diesel Railcar

4079 - Pendennis Castle

Wednesday 24 July

4079 - Pendennis Castle

22 - Diesel Railcar

Saturday 27 July

1340 - Trojan

2409 - King George

Sunday 28 July

1340 - Trojan

2409 - King George

Wednesday 31 July

1340 - Trojan

4079 - Pendennis Castle

« Back To Plan Your Visit

Didcot Railway Centre Newsletter

Stay up to date with events and what's going on at Didcot Railway Centre.
You may unsubscribe at any time. We do not share your data with 3rd parties.

Subscribe

Make A Donation

Click To Donate